Reading Nook: A Court of Mist and Fury

Reading Nook – Instalment 60

“A Court of Mist and Fury” by Sarah J. Maas

Reading period: 7th June 2024 – 23rd June 2024

Exactly like other girls

I felt vindicated reading this second instalment of the ACOTAR series as a lot of my character predictions came true. People are not all that they seem.

There was an interesting balance of shadow and light. Sometimes, we assume our protagonists and heroines just get on with life. Maas, however, makes a point to dreg up trauma, to ensure her characters are complex and multifaceted. She allows them to exist in the discomfort of life – not always whole and healed.

We’re also introduced to a new Court – the Night Court – led by Rhys and get to know a whole new set of characters who begin to feel like family. It’s fascinating to see how the Night Court differs so drastically from Spring – in all the ways I wouldn’t have anticipated.

I loved Feyre’s transformation in this novel. She’s finally given the space to breathe and grow. She becomes her own person, learning to hone new skills and becoming an absolute force of nature. There is a major shift from book one, as Feyre is able to be actively involved in the plotting, planning, politics, and acts of war. As a result, my understanding of Prythian grew significantly over the course of this novel.

I’m absolutely like other girls because I’m utterly obsessed. The conclusion of this book sets up such a great premise for “A Court of Wings and Ruin” and I’m so excited to see where Maas takes us.

Spoilers ahead

Rhysand quickly became one of my favourite characters. I knew it. I just knew he wasn’t the evil villain everyone had made him out to be. What a cracking, multifaceted character – I adore his multiple personas.

And Tamlin. Urgh. I was a little uncomfortable at the end of “A Court of Thorns and Roses“. He’d been so passive Under the Mountain, so uninvolved that his and Feyre’s relationship felt hollow. How smug did I feel when his actions resulted in their relationship imploding?

And the second-hand embarrassment I felt at the ending of “A Court of Mist and Fury” as Tamlin had made a deal to get Feyre back to the Spring Court. Oh, it made my skin crawl. Let a girl live.

I’ve got a feeling Feyre is going to make him live to regret that decision. I cannot wait.

5⭐️s

Published by Natabella

Partially assembled human and an expert in nothing. Writing is my therapy.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started